Home In other news New members join the British Red Cross Board of Trustees

New members join the British Red Cross Board of Trustees

Professor Geeta Nargund

The British Red Cross has announced Professor Geeta Nargund and Lewis Iwu will join the organisation as Trustees to the board.

Both Trustees bring a wealth of experience to the British Red Cross, and will join the board from 1 January 2018.

Professor Geeta Nargund is the Founder and Medical Director of Create Fertility and a Director of the Walking Egg Foundation, a Charity based in Belgium for global access to fertility care. She is also a Senior Consultant Gynaecologist and Lead Consultant for Reproductive Medicine at St George’s Hospital, London.

A pioneer in Natural and Mild IVF and Advanced Ultrasound Technology in Reproductive Medicine, she also works as a Visiting Professor and Co-Chief Editor of a peer-reviewed scientific journal and President of an International Scientific Society, ISMAAR.

Nargund is also a member of the Tiffany Circle and London Vice-President for British Red Cross and is on the Board of Trustees for the London Emergencies Trust.

Nargund was awarded “The Woman of the Year for Charity and Community work” by RED magazine in 2013, the Asian woman of the year “RBS Chairman’s Award” in 2014 and an “Inspirational Woman” award in 2015.

Lewis Iwu is Director of strategic communications firm Finsbury. Iwu has a background in campaigns, coalition building, public policy and the role of business in society. Lewis was formerly the founding Director of the Fair Education Alliance, an advocacy coalition of over 90 charities and corporates seeking to change the education system.

Lewis is also the coach of the England Schools Debating Team and was a former World University Debating Champion for Oxford University. He has coached debating and public speaking in over 11 countries over the past 10 years.

The board is made up of seven elected and six co-opted members, appointed by the board. Professor Geeta Nargund was duly elected as Trustee, and Lewis Iwu has been appointed as a Trustee. They will both join the board on 1 January 2018.